Energy Safe Victoria logo

New commissioners appointed to Energy Safe Victoria

Wednesday 2 December 2020 1:28pm
Energy Safe Victoria welcomes two leaders in Victorian energy sector regulation as commissioners. Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change, Lily D’Ambrosio, announced the appointments of Michelle Groves and Sarah McDowell today. Michelle and Sarah will join ESV’s current Director of Energy Safety Marnie Williams as the three person Commission. The Commission will assume all of ESV’s regulatory powers, which were previously vested in a single Director. “I am extremely pleased at these appointments,” Ms Williams said. “Both are high calibre leaders with a huge body of experience in energy regulation. ESV is extremely fortunate to have the benefit of their experience. “It is also significant, to have an all-women commission,” Ms Williams said. “That Victoria has produced such highly experienced and capable women is an impressive achievement.” Michelle was Chief Executive of the Australian Energy Regulator for close to 15 years and before that Director of the National Competition Council. Sarah is the Energy Executive Director at the Essential Services Commission and was a Senior Policy Advisor for the Energy portfolio to the Victorian Government. The formation of the Commission was a recommendation of the 2018 Review into Victoria’s Electricity and Gas Network Safety Framework. The Commission will be at the forefront of a transformation process that will equip ESV to be a strong and proactive regulator in a constantly changing energy environment. The Commission will commence 1 January 2021. Ms Williams will be Chairperson. ESV is also recruiting a CEO to provide clear distinction between regulatory decision-making, and the day-to-day operations of ESV. The CEO is expected to be appointed in early 2021. Read more About ESVExternal Link . Media contact: Jonathan Granger 0400 948 934 | View as PDFExternal Link .

Reviewed 14 December 2022

Was this page helpful?